Opening

This magnolia offered me these lovely questions: “What is opening?” “What is involved in the process of opening myself to the light beyond my darkness?” “How am I experiencing myself being opened by the Light that animates all?” Instead of trying to answer these queries with my mind, I breathed in the gentle, sweet fragrance of the flower–and rested within its hope.

 

My prayer response:

Loveliness, I am opening. Thank you for creating me with such courage and beauty.

 

Biblical touchstones:

  • God opened the rock, and water gushed out; it flowed through the desert like a river. Psalms 105:41
  • O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise.  Psalms 51:15
  • Come, my beloved…let us go out early to the vineyards, and see whether the vines have budded, whether the grape blossoms have opened and the pomegranates are in bloom. There I will give you my love. Song 7:12

Invitation to prayer:
What prayers are emerging in your heart, mind, and body?
Pray them now.

 

Photo:  Magnolia flower in the Botanical Gardens in Sydney, Australia

One comment

  • My lesson is always to slow down enough to observe the beauty in the world as I pass through and then to take the time to find meaning in the images we are gifted to observe. Last night as I facilitated a labyrinth walk in the gym at the prison I volunteer at, I observed the image of the labyrinth reflecting on the glass of the window on the door with the images of the inmates and their shadows as they walked toward their centers in deep reflection and introspection. These images remain with me today as I think about Spirit and its presence with us last night. Deep gratitude and blessings.

    Like

Submit a comment

