Self Acceptance

Who we are determines our unique beauty. When I look at an ibis, I don’t compare it to a seagull; I simply delight in its colors, markings, shape, and distinctive features. In the same way, valuing what makes me who I am opens me to contributing to the well-being of others in the most effective ways possible.


My prayer response:

God, help me to appreciate myself in ways that lead me to serve You and others.

 

Biblical touchstones:

  • I praise you [God], for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; that I know very well. Psalm 139:14
  • So God created humankind in God’s image… Genesis 1:27
  • Jesus answered, “It is written, ‘Worship the Lord your God, and serve only God.’” Luke 4:8

Invitation to prayer:

What prayers are emerging in your heart, mind, and body?
Pray them now.

 

Photo: Australian White Ibis in the Sydney Botanical Gardens

2 comments

Submit a comment

