Beyond

Seeing the mouth of the Sydney Harbour for the first time deepened my understanding not only of the watery cityscape below me, but of the inner landscape of my soul. Distant limestone cliffs marked the entrance to the port from the Tasman Sea. As my attention moved beyond them, racing towards the place where the watery horizon met the sky, my heart beat with excitement. Powerful desire drew me beyond the harbour’s threshold towards the unknown.

 

My prayer response:

God, Thank You for placing within me a longing to move beyond the familiar. Thank You for the trust I feel in my heart.

 

Biblical touchstones:

  • The word of God came to Jonah a second time, saying, “Get up, go…”
    Jonah 3:1-2
  • In the morning, while it was still very dark, Jesus got up and went out to a deserted place, and there he prayed. Mark 1:35
  • God will keep your going out and your coming in from this time on and forevermore. Psalm 121:8

Invitation to prayer:
What prayers are emerging in your heart, mind, and body?
Pray them now.

Photo: Harbour entrance as seen from the Sydney Tower, Australia

Submit a comment

