Healthy Respect

Wildness can evoke fear. Alternatively, it can call forth curiosity. My first reaction to unexpectedly finding myself in close proximity to a water dragon was to grab my camera, slowly approach it so as not to scare it off, and to explore its odd beauty through my lens. Later, when I encountered it again, in a different part of the garden, I reached for my camera once more, but then sat and waited for it to see if it would approach me–which it slowly did. It seemed as interested in me and as cautious about being together as I was.

 

My prayer response:

Mystery, You are way beyond my understanding. I am fascinated by You, sometimes torn between fear and curiosity. Thank You for helping me to embody my trust as I wait for us to encounter each other more deeply.

 

Biblical touchstones:

  • Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my thoughts. Psalm 139:23
  • …anyone who loves God is known by God. 1 Corinthians 3:8
  • Eat, friends, drink, and be drunk with love. Song of Songs 5:1

 

Invitation to prayer:
What prayers are emerging in your heart, mind, and body?
Pray them now.

 

Eastern Water Dragon, Australia
Eastern Water Dragon, Australia

 

Photo: Eastern Water Dragon at the Chinese Friendship Garden in Sydney, Australia

Submit a comment

