Embracing My Inner Child

During all the years I played with my beloved stuffed animal, “Bear,” a small koala that fit in my palm, I never imagined that one day I would hold a living koala named Vinnie. Dreams, even those I’m not conscious of, do sometimes come true. The joy that comes with their realization reminds me to honor the inner child who is not afraid to reach for the “impossible”; her wisdom astounds me!

 

My prayer response:

Creator God, Your imagination, which includes creatures as fascinating as koalas, is awesome! I’m grateful to touch it with my mind and skin, and as I do, to find myself connected to the large story of Life. Thank You!

 

Biblical touchstones:

  • God made the wild animals of the earth of every kind, and the cattle of every kind, and everything that creeps upon the ground of every kind. And God saw that it was good. Genesis 1:25
  • But ask the animals, and they will teach you… Job 12:7
  • Ever since the creation of the world God’s eternal power and divine nature, invisible though they are, have been understood and seen through the things God has made. Romans 1:20

 

Invitation to prayer:
What prayers are emerging in your heart, mind, and body?
Pray them now.

 

Photo: Jill and Koala, Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary, Brisbane Australia taken by Tim Geoffrion

One comment

Submit a comment

