Dreams

When I first saw photos of the Mo’ai on Easter Island, fascination planted the seed of a dream. I longed to experience these stone giants face to face. Although I never expected that this dream would be realized, today my whole being reverberated with amazement and gratitude as I did.*

 

My prayer response:

God, I feel overwhelmed by the opportunity I had to experience something as mysterious and magnificent at the Mo’ai. Please use my body-memories of these stone figures to draw me deeper into understanding of the human spiritual quest. Please use my photos to help others to reach out to You, just as I am do as I gaze at them.

 

Biblical touchstones:

  • The human mind plans the way, but God directs the steps. Proverbs 16:9
  • For surely I know the plans I have for you, says the LORD, plans for your welfare and not for harm, to give you a future with hope. Then when you call upon me and come and pray to me, I will hear you. When you search for me, you will find me; if you seek me with all your heart, I will let you find me, says God… Jeremiah 29:11-14
  • Now to God who by the power at work within us is able to accomplish abundantly far more than all we can ask or imagine, to God be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen. Ephesians 3:20-21

 

Invitation to prayer:
What prayers are emerging from your heart, mind, and body?
Pray them now.

 

 

Photos: The 15 Mo’ai (monolithic human figures) standing with their backs to the ocean at Ahu Tongariki on Easter Island. They were carved between 1250-1500 CE.
*To gain perspective on the size of the statues, note the people in the bottom right hand corner of the first photo.

2 comments

Submit a comment

