Sending My Love Back to Vanuatu

I picture the faces of those we met when we visited the island of Vanuatu in January. The smile of the man who showed us the fish on the reef. The tight mouth of the guide who spoke about the painful parts of the island’s history. The knowing eyes of the woman who offered us the opportunity to pay $5.00 to have a long snake wrapped around our necks so we could “make a memory.”

People of Vanuatu, my heart reaches back to you in your shock, horror, and grief. I have not forgotten you. My prayers are with you and all those affected by Cyclone Pam which has ravaged your islands and your lives.

 Photo ©Jill K H Geoffrion, Ph.D., www.jillgeoffrion.com

 

My prayer response:

God of the Whole World, Be present with the each of the people in Vanuatu in ways that matter most. Help us all to share what we can, our support, our prayers, our resources.

 

Biblical touchstones:

  • The thought of my affliction and my homelessness is wormwood and gall! My soul continually thinks of it and is bowed down within me. Lamentations 3:19-20
  • My heart is in anguish within me, the terrors of death have fallen upon me.
    Fear and trembling come upon me, and horror overwhelms me.
    And I say, “O that I had wings like a dove! I would fly away and be at rest;
    truly, I would flee far away; I would lodge in the wilderness; Selah
    I would hurry to find a shelter for myself. Psalm 55:4-8

 

Invitation to prayer:

What prayers are emerging from your heart, mind, and body?
Pray them now. Let them lead you where you need to go.

 

Photo ©Jill K H Geoffrion, Ph.D., www.jillgeoffrion.com

 

Photos: Vanuatu Island, South Pacific (two months before the cyclone)

Submit a comment

