I Want To See

Not being able to see the way I want, or knowing that I simply can’t “see” what is right in front of me, often drives me to cry out for God’s help.

My prayer response:

God, I echo the words of the blind men who you met on the road from Jericho, “Lord, have mercy on me. Let my eyes be opened.” Amen.

Jesus heals blind man, Outer Choir sculpture

Biblical touchstones:

  • As they were leaving Jericho, a large crowd followed him. There were two blind men sitting by the roadside. When they heard that Jesus was passing by, they shouted, “Lord, have mercy on us, Son of David!” The crowd sternly ordered them to be quiet; but they shouted even more loudly, “Have mercy on us, Lord, Son of David!” Jesus stood still and called them, saying, “What do you want me to do for you?” They said to him, “Lord, let our eyes be opened.” Moved with compassion, Jesus touched their eyes. Immediately they regained their sight and followed him. Matthew 20:29-34
  • The blind and the lame came to him in the temple, and he cured them.
    Matthew 21:14
  • They brought to the Pharisees the man who had formerly been blind. Now it was a sabbath day when Jesus made the mud and opened his eyes. Then the Pharisees also began to ask him how he had received his sight. He said to them, “He put mud on my eyes. Then I washed, and now I see.” John 9:13-15

Invitation to prayer:
What prayers are emerging from your heart, mind, and body? Pray them now. Let them lead you where you need to go.

Jesus heals blind man, Outer Choir sculpture

Photos: Jesus healing a blind man. Statues from the outer choir of the Chartres Cathedral in France.

Submit a comment

