God’s Touch

Creation is very personal. It involves  relationship that is often manifested very concretely–with love..

My prayer response:

Touch my life today, God, I pray, Jill

God creates Eve

Biblical touchstones:

  • ,,,God caused a deep sleep to fall upon the man, and he slept; then he took one of his ribs and closed up its place with flesh. And the rib that the LORD God had taken from the man he made into a woman… Genesis 2:21-22
  • As Jesus went, the crowds pressed in on him. Now there was a woman who had been suffering from hemorrhages for twelve years; and though she had spent all she had on physicians, no one could cure her. She came up behind him and touched the fringe of his clothes, and immediately her hemorrhage stopped. Then Jesus asked, “Who touched me?” When all denied it, Peter said, “Master, the crowds surround you and press in on you.” But Jesus said, “Someone touched me; for I noticed that power had gone out from me.” When the woman saw that she could not remain hidden, she came trembling; and falling down before him, she declared in the presence of all the people why she had touched him, and how she had been immediately healed. Jesus said to her, “Daughter, your faith has made you well; go in peace.” Luke 8:42-48
  • Then God put out God’s hand and touched my mouth; and God said to me, “Now I have put my words in your mouth. Jeremiah 1:9

Invitation to prayer:
What prayers are emerging from your heart, mind, and body? Pray them now. Let them lead you where you need to go.

God creates Eve

Photos: The Creation of Eve. Thirteenth century Good Samaritan window at the Chartres Cathedral in France.

Submit a comment

