The Life of Mary (1): Mary’s Birth

Birth is a miracle. It is also a mystery to ponder. Anne’s face in this scene that takes place shortly after Mary’s birth calls me to remember the birth of my sons and to wonder about my birth.

Anne after Mary's Birth in the Life of Mary Window by Jill K H Geoffrion

My Prayer:

For greater understanding of the many mysteries of this life, I pray.

Scriptural Touchstones:

Upon you [God] I have leaned from my birth; it was you who took me from my mother’s womb. My praise is continually of you. Psalms 71:6

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! By his great mercy he has given us a new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead… 1 Peter 1:3

Invitation to Prayer:

Anne after Mary's Birth in the Life of Mary Window by Jill K H Geoffrion

When you consider the mystery of birth–physical and spiritual–what prayers are emerging in your body, mind, heart, and imagination? Pray them now.

Photos:Mary's Birth in the Life of Mary Window by Jill K H Geoffrion
Anne after the birth of Mary in the Life of the Virgin Window (1217-1220) in the south choir aisle at the Chartres Cathedral in France.

15 comments

Submit a comment

