The Life of Mary (3): Willing

Mary’s hands express a willingness to trust. At the same time, her face reminds me of the questions I can hold even as I say to God, “Thy will be done.”
Life of Mary Window by Jill K H Geoffrion

My Prayer:

God, for the grace to say “Yes” to You, even if my mind isn’t completely at peace, I pray.

Scriptural Touchstones:

Mary said, “Here am I, the servant of the Lord; let it be with me according to your word.” Luke 1: 38 (NRSV)

Invitation To Pray:

Life of Mary Window by Jill K H Geoffrion

Study Mary in this image. Close your eyes and hold your hands out as you see her doing. Feel what your body is saying to the rest of you. What prayers are emerging in your body, mind, heart, and imagination? Pray them now.

Photos:

Mary’s parents introducing her to her teacher in the Life of the Virgin Window (1217-1220) in the south choir aisle at the Chartres Cathedral in France. It is the pane on the far left in the row that is fourth from the bottom.

Life of Mary Window by Jill K H Geoffrion

Other Posts in This Series:
Life of Mary (1): Mary’s Birth
Life of Mary (2) Mary’s First Bath

13 comments

Submit a comment

