Who Am I (6)? Sensual

There are no good answers to the question, “If I had to lose one of my senses, which would I choose?” We are sensual beings, created to enjoy tasting, touching, smelling, hearing, and seeing. I am so deeply grateful for pleasure.

My Prayer:

Thank You for deep enjoyment that is possible as I experience life smell by smell, sight by sight, touch by touch, sound by sound, and taste by taste.

Sensuality, Beatitude on the North Porch by Jill K H Geoffrion
The loveliness of sensuality portrayed by the act of incensing

Scriptural Touchstone: 

I praise you [God], for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Psalm 139:14

But thanks be to God, who in Christ always leads us in triumphal procession, and through us spreads in every place the fragrance that comes from knowing him. 2 Corinthians 2:14 (NRSV)

Invitation To Pray:

Sensuality, Beatitude on the North Porch by Jill K H Geoffrion

 

Use your senses to enjoy this moment! This prayer honors our Creator who made us with such love.

Photos:

Sensuality (1194-1230), the fifth statue representing the Heavenly Beatitudes from the bottom of the outer arch of the east bay of the north porch at Chartres Cathedral.

Virtues and Vices, North Porch Chartres by Jill K H Geoffrion
Women depicting the virtues and vices are shown on the outer row

Other posts in this series that seeks to explore the prayer of St. Francis of Assisi: Who are God? And who am I?

Who Am I? (The Virtues and the Vices: 1)
Who Am I? (2) Beautiful
Who Am I? (3) Free!
Who Am I? (4) Honorable
Who Am I? (5) Joyful in the Deepest Sense of the Word

Jill K H Geoffrion

Serving Christ as a contemplative minister and artist by compassionately and creatively inspiring others to seek a deeper relationship with God and a more meaningful life of service.

12 comments

Submit a comment

