Who Am I (9)? Faithful and Unfaithful

None of us are full of virtue or full of iniquity (vice). My longing for faith is greater than my ability to embody it. God knows all this; God accepts me for who I am.

Faith, North Porch by Jill K H Geoffrion
Faith represented collecting the blood of the lamb with Faithlessness at her feet

My Prayer:

For the gift of faith, I give You thanks. For more faith, I pray.

Scriptural Touchstone: 

 “I believe; help my unbelief!” Mark 9:24b (NRSV)

Infidelity, North Porch by Jill K H Geoffrion
Blindfolded infidelity

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. Hebrews 11:1 (NRSV)

Invitation To Pray:

What actions have demonstrated your faith in the last twenty-four hours? During the same period, when has it been impossible to embody faith? What prayers are emerging in your body, mind, heart, and imagination? Pray them now.

Photos:

Virtues & Vices, North Porch by Jill K H Geoffrion

Faith and infidelity found on the third voussoir of the east bay of the north porch at the Chartres Cathedral in France. These statues, carved between 1194-1230, are second from the bottom on the right.

Other posts in this series that seeks to explore the prayer of St. Francis of Assisi: Who are God? And who am I?

Who Am I? (The Virtues and the Vices: 1)
Who Am I? (2) Beautiful
Who Am I? (3) Free!
Who Am I? (4) Honorable
Who Am I? (5) Joyful in the Deepest Sense of the Word
Who Am I? (6) Sensual
Who Am I? (7) Agile
Who Am I? (8) Strong

Jill K H Geoffrion

Serving Christ as a contemplative minister and artist by compassionately and creatively inspiring others to seek a deeper relationship with God and a more meaningful life of service.

9 comments

Submit a comment

