Who Am I (10)? Giving and Greedy

Generosity opens doors of connection, meaning, and joy. Greed isolates. Sometimes I believe the lie that I am better off not sharing.

Charity and Avarice by Jill K H GeoffrionMy Prayer:

Thank You for a world where there is enough. Forgive me for not believing it, or acting accordingly. For greater trust, I pray.

Greed by Jill K H Geoffrion
Greed guarding her chest of money

Scriptural Touchstones: 

Let us consider how to provoke one another to love and good deeds… Hebrews 10:24 (NRSV)

Charity by Jill K H Geoffrion
Charity offering a garment to a child in need.

Keep your lives free from the love of money, and be content with what you have; for God has said, “I will never leave you or forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5  (NRSV)

Greed by Jill K H Geoffrion
Greed isolated by her preoccupation with her treasure chest and its contents.

Invitation To Pray:

Open your hands with your palms up. Notice what it feels like. Make fists with your hands–as tight as you can. Notice what it feels like. What prayers are emerging in your body, mind, heart, and imagination? Pray them now.

Charity and Avarice
Charity and Avarice

Photos:

Virtues & Vices, North Porch by Jill K H Geoffrion

Charity and Avarice found on the third voussoir of the east bay of the north porch at the Chartres Cathedral in France. These statues, carved between 1194-1230, are fourth from the bottom on the right.

Virtues Vices South Porch by Jill K H Geoffrion

Charity and Avarice on the south porch are found on the west side of a pillar of the west portal. They are the bottom two sculptures and were also carved between 1194-1230.

Other posts in this series that seeks to explore the prayer of St. Francis of Assisi: Who are God? And who am I?

Anslem’s Spiritual Beatitudes:
Who Am I? (The Virtues and the Vices: 1)
Who Am I? (2) Beautiful
Who Am I? (3) Free!
Who Am I? (4) Honorable
Who Am I? (5) Joyful in the Deepest Sense of the Word
Who Am I? (6) Sensual
Who Am I? (7) Agile
Who Am I? (8) Strong
The Virtues and the Vices (Medieval Sculptures):
Who Am I? (9) Faithful and Unfaithful
Who Am I? (10) Hopeful and Despairing

Jill K H Geoffrion

Serving Christ as a contemplative minister and artist by compassionately and creatively inspiring others to seek a deeper relationship with God and a more meaningful life of service.

7 comments

Submit a comment

