Who Am I? (17) Steady and Inconsistent

As challenges test me, I sometimes find it difficult to persevere. Fatigue, lack of perspective, and discouragement are the greatest enemies I face as I seek to live out my faith and values.

Inconstancy by Jill K H Geoffrion
Inconstancy represented as a monk dropping his robe at the door of the monastery as he leaves the order

My Prayer:

For the grace to take care of myself and therefore having the strength to be consistent in all areas of my life, I pray.

Scriptural Touchstone: 

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. 2 Timothy 4:7 (NRSV)

Perseverance by Jill K H Geoffrion
Perseverance represented with a crown on her shield

Invitation To Pray:

What makes it difficult for you to persevere and stay true to what you most value? As you consider how you have failed, what prayers are emerging in your body, mind, heart, and imagination? Pray them now.

Perseverance and Inconstancy by Jill K H Geoffrion

Photos:  Perseverance and Inconstancy (carved between 1194-1230) on the east side of the right central pillar on the  south porch of the Chartres Cathedral in France.

Other posts in this series that seeks to explore the prayer of St. Francis of Assisi: Who are God? And who am I?
Anslem’s Spiritual Beatitudes:
Who Am I? (1) The Virtues and the Vices
Who Am I? (2) Beautiful
Who Am I? (3) Free!
Who Am I? (4) Honorable
Who Am I? (5) Joyful in the Deepest Sense of the Word
Who Am I? (6) Sensual
Who Am I? (7) Agile
Who Am I? (8) Strong

The Virtues and the Vices (Medieval Sculptures):
Who Am I? (9) Faithful and Unfaithful
Who Am I? (10) Hopeful and Despairing
Who Am I? (11) Giving and Greedy Who Am I? Centered and Lost
Who Am I? (12) Humble and Prideful
Who Am I? (13) Wise and Foolish
Who Am I? (14) Gentle and Harsh
Who Am I? (15) Courageous and Cowardly
Who Am I? (16) Just and Unjust

Jill K H Geoffrion

Serving Christ as a contemplative minister and artist by compassionately and creatively inspiring others to seek a deeper relationship with God and a more meaningful life of service.

Submit a comment

