Encounter

Looking another in the eyes means risking relationship. It’s what I want, but the commitment to being present to whatever I discover there also feels frightening.

My prayer

Help me to look beyond seeing to caring–out of my depths, not my shallows.

Biblical touchstones

  • I saw all the oppressions that are practiced under the sun. Look, the tears of the oppressed—with no one to comfort them! Ecclesiastes 4:1
  • Beloved, let us love one another, because love is from God; everyone who loves is born of God and knows God. Whoever does not love does not know God, for God is love. 1 John 4:7-8
  • Seek God and God’s strength; seek God’s presence continually. Psalm 105:4

Invitation to prayer

Look deeply into the eyes of another living being. Afterward, ask yourself, “What prayers are emerging in my heart, mind, body and imagination?” Pray them.

Photo

Cicada resting on a rock next to the Valley Community Presbyterian Labyrinth in Golden Valley, Minnesota (USA)

 

Jill K H Geoffrion

Serving as a contemplative Christian minister and artist by compassionately and creatively inspiring others to seek a deeper relationship with God and a more meaningful life of service.

One comment

  • This summer in areas of Japan they didn’t have cicadas, a sign they think to foretell for an earthquake.

    Like

Submit a comment