Ascending

We experience limitations; God experiences options. This Feast Day of the Ascension is full of hope.

My prayer response:

Risen One, with joy in my heart I worship You!

Ascension of ChristBiblical touchstones:

  • Then Jesus led the disciples out as far as Bethany, and, lifting up his hands, he blessed them. While he was blessing them, he withdrew from them and was carried up into heaven. And they worshiped him, and returned to Jerusalem with great joy; and they were continually in the temple blessing God. Luke 24:50-52
  •  Jesus said to Mary Magdalene, “Do not hold on to me, because I have not yet ascended to the Father. But go to my brothers and say to them, ‘I am ascending to my Father and your Father, to my God and your God.’” Mary Magdalene went and announced to the disciples, “I have seen the Lord”; and she told them that he had said these things to her. John 20:17-18
  • But each of us was given grace according to the measure of Christ’s gift. Therefore it is said,“When he ascended on high he made captivity itself a captive; he gave gifts to his people.”(When it says, “He ascended,” what does it mean but that he had also descended into the lower parts of the earth? He who descended is the same one who ascended far above all the heavens, so that he might fill all things.) Ephesians 4-7Ascension of Christ

Invitation to prayer:
What prayers are emerging from your heart, mind, and body? Pray them now. Let them lead you where you need to go.

Photos: Christ’s Ascension,with his disciples watching. The thirteenth century stained glass window of the Apostles at the Chartres Cathedral in France.

Chartres Cathedral, France
Chartres Cathedral, France

Submit a comment