Found

When things open unexpectedly, joy spontaneously bubbles up, expressing itself in praise of the One who can unlock anything.

My prayer

God of the unexpected, thank you for surprising me over and over. I may get stuck, but You never do!

Biblical touchstones

  • Now when all the people were baptized, and when Jesus also had been baptized and was praying, the heaven was opened, and the Holy Spirit descended upon him in bodily form like a dove. And a voice came from heaven, “You are my Son, the Beloved; with you I am well pleased.” Luke 3:21-22
  • O Lord, open my lips, and my mouth will declare your praise. Psalm 51:15
  • A certain woman named Lydia, a worshiper of God, was listening to us; she was from the city of Thyatira and a dealer in purple cloth. The Lord opened her heart to listen eagerly to what was said by Paul. Acts 16:14

Invitation to prayer

Think of a situation that feels blocked, closed or walled off. Then, meditate on the image of the sun breaking through the clouds. What prayers are emerging in  your heart, mind, body and imagination? Pray them now.

Photo
Late afternoon sun on the water. Strait of Magellan, Chile

 

 

Submit a comment