Release

Letting go into the unknown is often frightening. As unlikely as it seems, I find comfort knowing that living and dying involve releasing ourselves into what we can not control.

My prayer

When fear of losing control grips my stomach and takes my breath away, help me to release myself into the unknown where I trust I will experience Your Loving Presence.

Biblical touchstones

  • I know, O God, that the way of human beings is not in their control, that mortals as they walk cannot direct their steps. Jeremiah 10:23
  • The fear of others lays a snare, but one who trusts in God is secure. Proverbs 29:25
  • Then I heard what seemed to be the voice of a great multitude, like the sound of many waters and like the sound of mighty thunderpeals, crying out, “Hallelujah! For the Lord our God the Almighty reigns. Let us rejoice and exult and give him the glory…” Revelation 19:6-7

Invitation to prayer

Imagine yourself falling into an abyss of unknown depth. What prayers are emerging in your heart, mind, body and imagination? Pray them now.

Photo

Looking down into Devil’s Throat Falls. Iguazu National Park, Argentina

 

Submit a comment