Holy Week in Chartres (4): Jesus’ Last Meal With His Disciples

When I take communion, I feel grateful for Jesus’ presence, even though he died two thousand years ago.

The Last Supper on the West Frieze by Jill K H Geoffrion
The Last Supper

My Prayer:

For Your love which nourishes my body and soul through the Eucharistic meal, I give thanks.

Scriptural Touchstone: 

The Last Supper on the West Frieze by Jill K H Geoffrion
John resting his head against Jesus during the Last Supper

One of Jesus’ disciples—the one whom Jesus loved—was reclining next to him. John 13:23

For I received from the Lord what I also handed on to you, that the Lord Jesus on the night when he was betrayed took a loaf of bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and said, “This is my body that is for you. Do this in remembrance of me.” In the same way he took the cup also, after supper, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood. Do this, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of me.” 1 Corinthians 11:23

While they were eating, he took a loaf of bread, and after blessing it he broke it, gave it to them, and said, “Take; this is my body.” Then he took a cup, and after giving thanks he gave it to them, and all of them drank from it. He said to them, “This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many.” Mark 14:22

The Last Supper on the West Frieze by Jill K H Geoffrion
Disciples at table, the Last Supper

Then Jesus took a loaf of bread, and when he had given thanks, he broke it and gave it to them, saying, “This is my body, which is given for you. Do this in remembrance of me.” And Jesus did the same with the cup after supper, saying, “This cup that is poured out for you is the new covenant in my blood.” Luke 22:19-20 (All NRSV)

Invitation To Pray:

Remembering the Communion meals that have nourished you, and perhaps looking forward to sharing in a Eucharistic meal today, what prayers are emerging in your body, mind, heart, and imagination? Pray them now.

The Last Supper on the West Frieze by Jill K H Geoffrion
Jesus with his disciples at the Last Supper

Photos: Sculptures of the West Frieze (1145) depicting the Last Supper at the Chartres Cathedral in France.

Other posts in this series:

Holy Week in Chartres (1): Palm Sunday
Holy Week in Chartres (2): Mary Prepares Jesus for His Death
Holy Week in Chartres (3): The Blessing of the Oils

 

Jill K H Geoffrion

Serving as a contemplative Christian minister and artist by compassionately and creatively inspiring others to seek a deeper relationship with God and a more meaningful life of service.