Who Am I (13)? Wise and Foolish

Following impulses can make me feel free, even joyous–in the moment. When I think things through and act wisely, I’m happier for longer.

Prudence, South Porch by Jill K H Geoffrion
Prudence displaying a shield with a snake. (See Matthew 10:16 “…be wise as serpents…” She probably held a mirror in her other hand–a way to see things from multiple angles.)

My Prayer:

God, forgive my folly, and lead me deeper into Your wisdom and truth.

Prudence and Folly, North Porch by Jill K H Geoffrion
Prudence reading with folly at her feet

Scriptural Touchstones: 

The tongue of the wise dispenses knowledge, but the mouths of fools pour out folly. Proverbs 15:2 (NRSV)

Folly on South porch by Jill K H Geoffrion
Folly hitting acorns off a tree with a club

Invitation To Pray:

Has today been a day with more wisdom or folly? What prayers are emerging in your body, mind, heart, and imagination? Pray them now.

Prudence reading, North Porch by Jill K H Geoffrion

Photos:   Prudence and Folly found together on the third voussoir of the east bay of the north porch at the Chartres Cathedral in France. These statues were carved between 1194-1230.

Prudence and Folly on the south porch are found on the south side of a pillar of the central portal. They are the middle two sculptures and were also carved between 1194-1230.

Other posts in this series that seeks to explore the prayer of St. Francis of Assisi: Who are God? And who am I?
Anslem’s Spiritual Beatitudes:
Who Am I? (1) The Virtues and the Vices
Who Am I? (2) Beautiful
Who Am I? (3) Free!
Who Am I? (4) Honorable
Who Am I? (5) Joyful in the Deepest Sense of the Word
Who Am I? (6) Sensual
Who Am I? (7) Agile
Who Am I? (8) Strong

The Virtues and the Vices (Medieval Sculptures):
Who Am I? (9) Faithful and Unfaithful
Who Am I? (10) Hopeful and Despairing
Who Am I? (11) Giving and Greedy Who Am I? Centered and Lost
Who Am I? (12) Humble and Prideful

Jill K H Geoffrion

Serving Christ as a contemplative minister and artist by compassionately and creatively inspiring others to seek a deeper relationship with God and a more meaningful life of service.

4 comments

Submit a comment

