Who Am I (15)? Courageous and Cowardly

Even the bravest person can want to run away. Courage is one of my core values, but sometimes I act like a coward. When I refuse to give in to fear I can stand strong.

Courage Cowardice, North Porch by Jill K H Geoffrion
Courage, a female figure in chain mail. She is holding a sword in one hand and a shield with a lion in the other.

My Prayer:

To be stronger in general, and more willing to face my fears, I pray.

Cowardice, North Porch by Jill K H Geoffrion
Cowardice, cowering under Courage. She has let go of her sword.

Scriptural Touchstone: 

Be strong and of good courage. Do not be afraid or dismayed before the king of Assyria and all the horde that is with him; for there is one greater with us than with him. 2 Chronicles 32:7 (NRSV)

Courage, South Porch by Jill K H Geoffrion
Courage, a female figure holding a sword (most broken off) and a shield with a lion)

Invitation To Pray:

What do you need courage for today? What do you need to fight for? What prayers are emerging in your body, mind, heart, and imagination? Pray them now.

Courage Cowardice by Jill K H Geoffrion
Courage and Cowardice

Photos:  Courage and Cowardice on the north and south porches of the Chartres Cathedral in France. They were carved between 1194-1230.

Other posts in this series that seeks to explore the prayer of St. Francis of Assisi: Who are God? And who am I?
Anslem’s Spiritual Beatitudes:
Who Am I? (1) The Virtues and the Vices
Who Am I? (2) Beautiful
Who Am I? (3) Free!
Who Am I? (4) Honorable
Who Am I? (5) Joyful in the Deepest Sense of the Word
Who Am I? (6) Sensual
Who Am I? (7) Agile
Who Am I? (8) Strong

The Virtues and the Vices (Medieval Sculptures):
Who Am I? (9) Faithful and Unfaithful
Who Am I? (10) Hopeful and Despairing
Who Am I? (11) Giving and Greedy Who Am I? Centered and Lost
Who Am I? (12) Humble and Prideful
Who Am I? (13) Wise and Foolish
Who Am I? (14) Gentle and Harsh

Jill K H Geoffrion

Serving as a contemplative Christian minister and artist by compassionately and creatively inspiring others to seek a deeper relationship with God and a more meaningful life of service.

2 comments

Submit a comment